[SOLVED] Dell Inspiron 3542 won’t shutdown/sleep on Windows 10

I’m writing this post because of a nightmare that I had. I own a Dell Inspiron 3542 and I installed Windows 10 on it (1yr ago), but unfortunately my system started to behave abnormally. My laptop didn’t shutdown properly or sleep well. When the OS pass the shutdown signal something prevents the CPU from turning off. Everything else the CPU is turned off but the CPU ! (fan was running). Which made me to force shutdown my laptop using the power button. I thought something is wrong with the OS and I Just downgraded. But a few days ago I got the 1703 Creator Update of Windows 10 and It made me to install it again. But here it comes, my nightmare !. The problem still out there, but this time I didn’t quit because I stared to love 1703. I stared to digging the web for the solution and I found  it. The problem was a driver – “Intel Management Interface Driver”.

Untitled

I had to uncheck the option “Allow the computer to turn off the device to save power” and it helped

Official thread

Or

Here is an alternate method to solve the problem.

  1. Uninstall the ‘device’ (Intel Management Interface Engine) from device manager.
  2. Reboot
  3. Now you will have a version ‘9.5.24.1790’
  4. Prevent the driver from getting updated via ‘windows update’ by installing trouble shooter and check on Intel Management Interface http://download.microsoft.com/download/f/2/2/f22d5fdb-59cd-4275-8c95-1be17bf70b21/wushowhide.diagcab
Leave a Reply

